Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath Has Been Announced Header Image

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath Has Been Announced

Written by on | OpenCritic

Games discussed:

A new expansion has been announced for Mortal Kombat 11

NetherRealm Studios has announced Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath. Aftermath will serve as an expansion to the original game, continuing the original's story. (Spoilers ahead) Aftermath picks up after Liu Kang defeats Kronika. He is about to recreate a new timeline with Raiden, when he is stopped by Shang Tsung, who had been imprisoned by Kronika. Shang Tsung informs Liu Kang that he will end up destroying all of the realms if he creates a new timeline as he destroyed Kronika's crown when he defeated her, which was being used to help her tamper with time. They decide to send Shang Tsung back in time in order to take the crown before Kronika was even in possession of it. 

A number of additions will be coming to Mortal Kombat 11 through Aftermath. This includes new stages, as well as the return of Stage Fatalities. Also returning are Friendship finishers. The Friendship finisher that was shown in Aftermath's trailer had Scorpion shoot out his hook only to pull it back with a giant teddy bear attached. 

Aftermath will also see three new characters joining the game's roster. The first is Sheeva, who uses her four arms to smash her opponents into the ground. The second is Fujin, who utilizes a sword in his fighting style. Finally, it was revealed that Robocop will also be a playable character, making him the fourth guest character after Joker, Terminator, and Spawn. 

Gamers will be able to buy the Aftermath expansion by itself if they already own Mortal Kombat 11, or with the original game. The expansion by itself will cost $39.99, and will contain the new story and characters. A bundle will be sold for $59.99, and will come with base game, the first Kombat Pack, and the Aftermath expansion. The new stages, Stage Fatalities, and Friendship finishers will release in a free update the same day that Aftermath goes on sale. 

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath will release for PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Stadia, and the Nintendo Switch digitally on May 26th. The expansion will receive a physical release in June. 

About the Authors

Michael Arrieta Avatar Image
I have been playing video games for as long as I can remember. I am a huge fan of JRPGs, though I also enjoy fighters. I have been writing about video games for a few years now. If it has a great story, I am sure that I will dig it.