Details for the Upcoming Marvel's Avengers Beta Have Been Revealed

Details for the Upcoming Marvel's Avengers Beta Have Been Revealed

Written by on | OpenCritic

Games discussed:

We now have details for the sizable Marvel's Avengers beta. 

Information on the Marvel's Avengers beta was revealed during the game's latest War Table presentation, and has now been posted on the PlayStation Blog. The beta will begin on August 7th for those who pre-order the game on the PlayStation 4. On August 14th, the beta will open to those who have pre-ordered the game on PC and Xbox One, as well as to all PlayStation 4 owners. Finally, on August 21st, the beta will become available for everyone. 

A large amount of content will be available during the beta. Players will have access to the Golden Gate Bridge sequence of A-Day, where they will have the chance to try out Thor, Iron Man, Captain America, Hulk, and Black Widow. After completing the A-Day mission, players will be given access to new story Hero Missions, as well as War zones, where they can play as Iron Man, Hulk, Ms. Marvel, or Black Widow. The first Hero Mission will be called "To Find Olympia," and will have Ms. Marvel and Hulk search the last known location of JARVIS. After finishing that mission, gamers will unlock another mission, entitled "Missing Links," which has Hulk and Ms. Marvel go to the frozen Russian Tundra with the goal of uncovering SHIELD secrets. 

The Marvel's Avengers beta will grant players access to the Holographic Augmented Reality Machine rooms, also known as HARM Rooms. These rooms let gamers take on increasingly more difficult waves of enemies, and can be played with either other players or with AI companions. Once the three rooms in the beta are completed, players will earn a Nameplate that will carry over to the full game. The beta will also feature War Zone and Drop Zone missions for players to take on with others or AI companions. There will be five War Zone missions, as well as five Drop Zone missions available in the beta. 

The beta for Marvel's Avengers will let players experience the game's progression system. Players will have access to the first Skill page for each hero, and can use Skill Points that they have earned to spend on Skills and shape their heroes however they want. The Hero Level cap will be 15, while the Power Level cap will be 45 in the beta. Players will also earn a second Nameplate just for participating in the beta that will transfer over to the full game. 

The first DLC character coming to Marvel's Avengers after launch has also been revealed: Hawkeye. Hawkeye will have his own story mission chain, and will bring a new villain with him. Like the core six heroes, all DLC characters will come with custom move sets and combos, Skills, Gear, Heroics, outfits, emotes, and name plates. New characters, story content, and regions will be added to the game for free. 

Marvel's Avengers will release on September 4th for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. The game will come to the PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X at a later date. 

About the Authors

Michael Arrieta Avatar Image
I have been playing video games for as long as I can remember. I am a huge fan of JRPGs, though I also enjoy fighters. I have been writing about video games for a few years now. If it has a great story, I am sure that I will dig it.