What Comes After MastheadWhat Comes After Masthead

What Comes After

Rating Summary

Based on 10 critic reviews
Fair Man

OpenCritic Rating


Top Critic Average


Critics Recommend

Based on 10 critic reviews
Spread the word:

General Information

Available on:PCNov 5, 2020

Developer: fahmitsu

Publisher: Rolling Glory Jam

Genre: Adventure

From the creator of Coffee Talk, in collaboration with Rolling Glory Jam the creator of Rage in Peace. What Comes After is a short experience, a heartwarming story, and a love letter to all of you who think you're a burden for other people. Help Vivi finds herself through the journey that takes her to where people go after they died, to what comes after. Ride the train filled with the souls of the people, animals, and plants that are on their way to leave this world, and talk to them to learn about love, regrets, life, and death that haunt us every day until our time has come. All presented in a light-hearted way with a sprinkle of comedy and philosophy. Features: A short heartwarming story that will stay in your heart and memory A personal journey of learning how to love yourself A tale filled with love and comedy Colorful art to accompany your journey in the train not bound for the living An easy to pick-up gameplay

What Comes After Critic Reviews

View All (10 total)

What Comes After is a short narrative experience that doesn’t ask much from the player but has a lot to offer in return. Its playtime may not run long, but the effect it had on me lingered for far longer.

Read full review

It is a very short experience, clocking in at just around an hour long, so even if you find the gameplay to be a tad tedious, the game at the very least does not overstay its welcome. If you're more interested in narrative as opposed to gameplay, you will likely find some enjoyment here, but those who are more interested in gameplay should probably steer clear. What Comes After has a lot to say, and even if a shoddy translation takes the impact down a bit, it's still worth a look if its premise has caught your eye.

Read full review

If What Comes After can help those dealing with mental health struggles, then that’s a wonderful thing. But it doesn’t cover these topics delicately; its messages aren’t hidden anywhere, they’re in-your-face, front and centre. However, it’s all the other issues What Comes After tries to deal with – deforestation, animal abuse and more – that ruin the experience. As important as all of those issues are, What Comes After doesn’t give enough time for them to have any real purpose or meaning. Had it been more focused, it could have had much more impact.

Read full review

What Comes After communicates one of the most important messages we need this year.

Review in German | Read full review

Audience Reviews

There are no audience reviews yet! Click the button below to add the first one!

Where to Buy